

# Arizona Department of Agriculture

Environmental and Plant Services Division mailing: 1802 W. Jackson Street, #78 Phoenix, Arizona 85007 physical: 1110 W. Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85007 P: (602) 542-0994 F: (602) 542-1004

## ARIZONA NATIVE PLANT RULES COMMITTEE CHARTER

The Arizona Native Plant Rules Committee (the "Committee") is an advisory committee to the Director of the Arizona Department of Agriculture (the "Department") as authorized under A.R.S. § 3-106.

#### **Purpose**

The purpose of the Committee is to provide input and advise the Director of the Department, or the Director's designee, on the development of administrative rules used to protect and manage Arizona native plants.

### **Duties and Responsibilities**

As a public body, the Committee is required to follow Arizona's Open Meeting Law, A.R.S. §§ 3-431 to 3-431.09. The members of the Committee shall review Chapter 7 of the *Arizona Agency Handbook* issued by the Arizona Attorney General's Office.

The Committee shall work with the Department to provide feedback on administrative rule changes to Title 3, Chapter 3, Article 11 developed by Department staff and the Department assigned Assistant Attorney General based on the Department's previous five-year rule review report.

The Committee shall select a Chairperson and Co-chairperson and replace any vacancies during the term of the Committee.

The Committee's primary responsibilities include:

- Comprehensively review draft administrative rule changes in Title 3, Chapter 3, Article 11 as provided by Department staff.
- Provide input and comments, in a manner as recommended by Department staff, to utilize in the development of changes to the administrative rules.
- Coordinate with Department staff on the recommendation of amendments to the administrative rules.
- Upon the completion of the development of draft administrative rule changes, provide a summary of comments to the Director for consideration by March 1, 2024.

# **Appointment Term**

The term of the Committee will be from November 1, 2023 until no later than September 15, 2024. The Committee serves at the discretion and pleasure of the Director. The Director may choose to terminate the Committee prior to September 15, 2023, if necessary.

#### **Liaison**

The Director has assigned Brian McGrew, Industrial Hemp Program Manager and Jamie Legg, Quarantine Program Manager, and as the primary points of contact for the Committee. Please call or email Mr. McGrew at 602-542-3228 or bmcgrew@azda.gov; or Mr. Legg at 602-542-0992 or jlegg@azda.gov for questions or requests. When corresponding via email, please include both points of contact.