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As of March 2015, the Department began using a new, universal certificate for all self-inspection 
customers.   
 
Self-inspection certificates are official documents of the State of Arizona issued under the 
provisions of Arizona Administrative Code R3-2-702.  When you submitted your self-inspection 
application (https://agriculture.az.gov/sites/default/files/siapplication.pdf), which must be 
renewed every two years, you agreed to return used or voided certificates to the Department 
within 10 days after the month in which the certificate was used or voided. 
 
We have pre-printed the majority of the information we have on file onto the certificates.  If 
there are errors, please make appropriate corrections on the certificate.  But do not return these 
certificates to the Department for corrections.  We will make corrections to our records as we 
receive the completed certificates, and these corrections will be reflected in the next set of issued 
certificates.  
 
If a self-inspection certificate isn’t completed accurately, the certificate is invalid and the owner 
is subject to criminal citation pursuant to A.R.S § 3-1347.  Please follow the instructions below 
when filling out your certificates.  
 
Fill out where the livestock were shipped from, including the physical address and location code.   
 
Fill out where the livestock are being shipped to or who bought the livestock, including the 
physical address and location code.   
 
Include the name of the transporter.   
 
Include the number and type of livestock being conveyed.  
 
Fill out the official/animal ID numbers.   
 
Fill out the date shipped.    
 
Fill out the description or breed of shipment and the total head shipped.   
 
Fill out the payment box for cattle.  Pursuant to A.R.S. § 3-1337.D, there is a 20¢ per head 
movement fee for beef cattle (both range and non-range), feedlots, and dairies.  There is also a 
Beef Council charge of $1.00 per head when any feedlot, dairy, range, or non-range cattle 
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change ownership.  Beef Council isn’t charged if the auction collects the monies or if an owner 
has the cattle for less than 10 days.  Goat and sheep owners do not pay any fees or charges 
pursuant to statute.  Pigs and horses are not included in the self-inspection program.        
  
The owner shall sign and date the certificate.  The buyer or buyer’s agent shall also sign and date 
the certificate.  Note: The certificates cannot be used for range cattle changing ownership.     

 
For Dairy certificates, fill out the 86D backtag numbers and the department-issued permit 
number.   
 
For Feedlot certificates, fill out the pen or lot number.   
 
For Range certificates, the brand design, brand number, brand location, and brand expiration date 
will be pre-printed.   

 
A self-inspection certificate CANNOT be used for changes of ownership in range cattle, removal of 
range cattle from the State, or custom slaughter because a livestock inspector must inspect these 
occurrences.  If you need a livestock inspection, please call 623-445-0281.   
 
A self-inspection certificate is NOT a Bill of Sale.       
 
You are required to return used or voided certificates to the Department within 10 days 
after the month in which the certificate was used or voided.  Make checks payable to the 
Arizona Department of Agriculture, and note the certificate number on the check.  Do not send 
cash.  Please mail the completed certificates (or voided certificates) and payment to: 
 

Arizona Department of Agriculture 
Attention: Self-Inspection 
1688 West Adams Street 
Phoenix, AZ 85007-2617 

 
Sending the form “Attention: Self-Inspection” will insure that it reaches the correct office. 
 
Thank you for your patience as we transition to the new self-inspection certificate.  If you have 
any questions, comments, or concerns, call (602) 542-6407 or email selfinspection@azda.gov. 

  


