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Question

What is the oldest law 

enforcement agency in 

Arizona?



Answer

Territorial 

Livestock 

Sanitary 

Commission

Livestock 

Officers



Arizona Livestock 

Officer History 
• March 10, 1887 – a 3-member Territorial Livestock Sanitary Commission 

was created to include a Territorial Veterinarian

• March 19, 1891 – Livestock Officers were appointed

• March 21, 1895 – brand owners required to register their brands

• 1897 – all county livestock brands transferred to the Territorial Livestock 

Sanitary Commission, 1st brand book published

• February 14, 1912 – Arizona attained statehood, Territorial Livestock 

Sanitary Commission became the Livestock Sanitary Board

• 1990 – the Arizona Department of  Agriculture (ADA) was created, the 

Livestock Sanitary Board became a program in ADA’s Animal Services 

Division



Importance of  

Livestock in Arizona
• Cattle came to present day AZ as early as the 1690s 

via Spanish conquistadors & missionaries 

• After the Civil War (1865), overgrazed pastures in 

Texas led ranchers to the AZ Territory and began the 

state's cattle boom

• AZ ranchers produced enough beef  to                  

feed 4.6 million Americans in 2010

• This 391.2 million pounds of  beef  made a                    

total economic impact of  $3.2 billion



Importance of  

Livestock in Arizona
• Pleasant Valley War (1882 – 1892) – a feud between the cattle-

herding Grahams and the sheep-herding Tewksburys

• For many years before the War started, AZ had been vying for 

statehood. Since the feud remained unresolved for so long, many 

legislators in DC saw it as proof  that AZ was not yet civilized enough 

to be a part of  the Union

• Some historians believe the War                                                       

might have set AZ statehood                                                                    

back for decades



Importance of  

Livestock Branding
• Main purpose – prove ownership of  lost or stolen livestock

• A brand is like a VIN on a vehicle because

a vehicle’s license plate is only

temporary identification 

• A brand on an animal is considered 
prima facie evidence (proof  of  
ownership)

• Allows livestock to graze freely on                                               
the ranges of  the American west                                                     
(less common today than in the past)



As the cowboy says…..

“A brand is 
something 
that won’t 
come off  in 
the wash.”



Origin of  Branding

• Ancient Egyptians: 2700 B.C. 

• Branded oxen with hieroglyphics 

• Biblical evidence: Genesis

• Jacob the herdsman branded his                               
livestock

• Spanish explorer, Hernan Cortes: prior to 1541 A.D.

• Introduced branding to the New World 

• Branded his cattle with three crosses  †††



AZ Brand Recordings

• Submit an application

• 30-day public notice

• $75 filing fee

• Brand recorded in                                   
brand book

• Issuance of  brand                            
certificate  



Question

How many brands are 

currently registered in 

Arizona? 



Answer

9,194
(as of  July 3, 2018) 

In 1908, there were 11,566 

registered brands.



Types of  Branding Irons

• Fire brands

• Electric irons

• Freeze brands

• “Running irons”



Fire Brands

• Developed by 

Ancient Egyptians

• Heated over a fire



Electric Irons 

• Heats up in seconds

• Maintains constant heat



Freeze Brands 

• Changes the 

pigmentation of  the 

animal’s hair

• Iron is chilled with a 

coolant  (e.g. dry ice or 

liquid nitrogen)



“Running Irons” are Illegal

• Used by cattle rustlers to change 

brands (e.g. Pleasant Valley War)



Arizona Brand Laws
• Owners of  range livestock are required to have an AZ 

recorded brand (ARS § 3-1261)

• No two brands of  the same design or figure shall be 

adopted or recorded (ARS § 3-1261)

• Brands have to be re-recorded every 5 years (ARS § 3-

1264)

• There is a 3-year grace period to re-record your brand 

(ARS § 3-1265)

• The fee to record a brand is $75, and the fee to re-record 

a brand is $50 (ARS § 3-1266)



Arizona Brand Laws

• Branding livestock with an unrecorded, cancelled, 

suspended, or forfeited brand could result in a class 

3 misdemeanor (ARS § 3-1269)

• Ranging unbranded livestock could result in a class 

2 misdemeanor (ARS § 3-1296)

• Intentionally changing, altering, or disfiguring 

someone else’s brand could result in a class 4 felony 

(ARS § § 3-1304 & 1305)



AZ Brand Inspections

We are required to inspect 

livestock (except equines) 

within 48 hours for health, 

marks, and brands before 

they are slaughtered, sold, 

purchased, driven, 

transported, shipped, or 

conveyed (ARS § 3-1332)



How to Read a Brand

• Combination of  two or more letters or symbols

• Left to right

• Top to bottom 

• Outside to inside



Current Culture of  Brands

• Not just for livestock but should be….

• Brands are found on:

• Property entrances

• Pickup trucks

• Belt buckles

• Clothing 

• Saddles & tack

• Food

We do not record brands to be used for 

any purpose other than to brand livestock. 

Persons interested in recording a "logo" 

should contact the Secretary of  State.



The information contained in this presentation is to the best of  our knowledge.  

This information was gathered from the following sources: 

1908 territorial brand book

1992 brand inspector policy manual

Pleasant Valley Community Center – Young, AZ 

Smithsonian

The Arizona Experience 

Modern Farmer

Special credit is given to Lt. Darrel Hale for helping research this material. 




