
QUALIFYING PARTY LICENSES IN OTHER STATES? 

 

State Title of Responsible Party 

which is similar to a QP 

Experience Required Notes 

California 
(Department of Pesticide 

Regulation/Structural Pest 

Control Board) 

Operator (Qualifying 

Manager) 

 

*A Qualifying Manager is an 

Operator designated by the 

business as responsible for the 

daily supervision of the pest 

control operations. 

Fumigation (BR 1) 2 yrs/1 as FR 

Pest Control (BR 2) 2 yrs/1 as FR 

Termite Control (BR 3) 4 yrs/2 as 

FR 

 

Operator License also requires 

“Board Approved” course work in 

subjects relevant to the Branch 

 

 

 

FR = Field Representative License 

and requires documented 

experience; however, only 

fumigation establishes 6 months as 

a minimum. 

1 year exp. = 1600 hours 

 

Weed/T & O are regulated 

under different standards.  A 

person performing business in 

these categories must have a 

Qualified Applicator License, 

which can be obtained by 

examination, and without 

required experience. 

Colorado 
(Department of 

Agriculture; Division of 

Plant Industry) 

Qualifying Supervisor 

 

 

Varies depending on category 

 

Structural PC (pest, termite, fume) 

= 24 months in past 5 years.  TC 

must have 100 verifiable in last 2 

yrs, 30 of which must be “hands-

on”. 

 

AG PC (weed, public health, et.al.) 

= 8 months in past 5 yrs 

 

Turf PC = 4 months in past 2 yrs 

 

Ornamental PC = 8 months in past 

2 yrs 

Allows college credit to 

supplant field experience.  1.5 

to 5 months of field 

experience per year of college 

depending on category. 

Nevada 
(Department of 

Agriculture; Plant Industry 

Division) 

Primary Principal 

 
A Primary Principal is a Principal 

designated by the business as the 

person in charge of the daily 

operations/supervision of the 

business 

Principal must have no less than 2 

years of practical experience or 16 

college credits in biological 

sciences (8 of which must be 

directly related) and 6 months 

practical experience in initial 

category. 

Once licensed, Nevada laws 

allow a person (Principal) to 

add additional license 

categories through continuing 

education and/or college 

course work, as opposed to 

actual field experience. 



Texas 
(Structural Pest Control 

Service) 

Responsible Certified 

Commercial Applicator 

 
Certified Commercial Applicator 

designated by business as person 

responsible for supervision 

Must have 12 months experience 

in past 24 months, must have held 

technician license for at least 6 

months.   

 

A Technician License is obtained 

through examination after 

completing at least 68 hours of 

training (20 general)(8 

classroom/40 field for each 

category) while an “Apprentice.”   

Business needs a RCCA for 

each business location, and a 

person can only function as an 

RCCA for one business 

location at a time, although 

one can operate as a Certified 

Commercial Applicator for 

more than one business. 

State Title of Responsible Party 

which is similar to a QP 

Experience Required Notes 

 

North Dakota 

( Department of 

Agriculture) 

 

 

 

None 

 

The only supervisor appears 

to be one who supervises the 

use of Restricted Use 

Pesticides; this person is 

called a Certified Public 

Applicator. 

 

 

None 

They just need to hold a 

valid certification. They 

get that by obtaining a 

passing score on an 

exam.  Once they are 

certified, they would 

need to sit through a re-

certification training 

course once every three 

years or re-take the 

exam. 

 

North Carolina  

 

(Structural Pest 

Control Agency) 

None If one is to be licensed in a 

“specialized category” such 

as Ornamental, Turf, 

Termite, etc… then one must 

have two years of 

documented experience. 

Two forms of 

applicators—unlicensed 

(test required), 

licensed—test and 

experience required (2 

years experience). 

Virginia 

(Office of Pesticide 

Services) 

 

None None Must be able to pass 

exam.  They only certify 

applicators and 

businesses; nothing 

similar to qualifying 

party. 



Hawaii 

 

(Department of 

Agriculture 

Pesticides Branch) 

None Applicators—No experience 

 

Field Reps—60 hours of 

training and field experience 

Must be able to pass 

exam and provide 

evidence of insurance. 

Wisconsin 

 

(Department of 

Agriculture) 

None None Must be able to pass 

exam. No experience 

required. 

Pennsylvania  

 

(Department of 

Agriculture) 

 

None None Must be able to pass 

exam.  They only certify 

applicators and 

businesses; nothing 

similar to qualifying 

party. 

Alaska  

(Department of 

Environmental 

Conservation) 

 

None Must obtain 12 hours of 

continuing education and 

then be able to pass an exam.  

 

New Mexico  

(Department of 

Agriculture) 

Commercial Pesticide 

Applicator (CPA) 

Their law simply states 
“application experience” 
and it does not have to 
be as an employee of a 
pest management 
operation nor is it 
based on the number of 
“hours” at the end of a 
hose.     

Must pass exam. 


