

Arizona Department of Agriculture

postal: 1802 W. Jackson Street, #78 Phoenix, Arizona 85007 ~ physical: 1110 W. Washington Street, Ste. 450, Phoenix, AZ 85007 P: (602) 542-0994 F: (602) 542-1004

Arizona Native Plant Rules Committee Meeting Minutes November 15, 2023

Call to Order. Brian Mcgrew, Staff, called the meeting to order at 2:02 P.M.

Roll Call. Mr. McGrew called roll. Members Present: Cheri Boucher, Donna Ellis, Wendy McBride, Jennifer Patton, John Scheuring, Willie Sommers, Wendy Hodgson.

Opening Comments. Jack Peterson, Associate Director of the Environmental and Plant Services Division, provided a brief statement and introduction to the current status of the Arizona Native Plant Program and reviewed the Department's expectations of the Arizona Native Plant Rules Committee (ANPRC).

Prior to the adjournment of the meeting after the call to the public, Donna Ellis asked for introductions and background of the Committee members. Introductions were provided.

Open Meeting Law. Deanie Reh, Assistant Attorney General assigned to the Arizona Department of Agriculture, provided a presentation on the current requirements for complying with the Arizona Open Meeting Laws.

Committee Charter and Meeting Guidelines. Mr. McGrew gave an overview of the drafted Committee Charter and Meeting Guidelines for the ANPRC. Mr. Scheuring commented that the timeframe of having a report to the Director of the Department by March 1, 2024 seems too limited given the task required. Mr. McGrew explained that the timeline is based on the commitment to complete the rulemaking process no later than September 2024, to comply with the Agency's five-year rule review report to the Arizona Governor's Regulatory Review Council. Mr. McGrew also commented that, however, if the ANPRC wishes to modify the Charter, they have the availability at their discretion by decision of the Committee. Mr. McGrew gave a brief overview of the rulemaking process for context.

Selection of Chair and Co-Chair. Mr. McGrew opened the floor for nominations for the selection of a Committee chair person. Donna Ellis nominated John Scheuring as Chair. Jennifer Patton seconded the nomination. John Scheuring was selected unanimously during a roll call vote as Committee Chair. Mr. McGrew handed the floor to Mr. Scheuring to request a nomination for Co-chair. Mr. Scheuring nominated Jennifer Patton as Co-chair. Donna Ellis seconded the nomination. Jennifer Patton was selected unanimously during a roll call vote as Committee Co-chair.

Call to the Public.

No public comment was received.

Next Meeting.

Mr. Scheuring opened the floor for discussion on the next meeting. It was recommended that staff provide a survey to the Committee members to provide input on availability for the next meeting and a regularly scheduled monthly meeting. Mr. McGrew indicated that one will be distributed to the Committee.

With no further business Mr. Scheuring Adjourned the meeting at 3:10 PM.

Video recording of the meeting available at: https://archive.org/details/arizona-native-plant-rules-committee-2023-11-15-14-02-gmt-7