
ARIZONA GRAIN RESEARCH AND PROMOTION COUNCIL 

Form Revised January 2018 

First Purchaser’s Monthly Remittance Report of Producers’ Check-off Funds 

INSTRUCTIONS: 
1. See back of this form for sections of A.R.S. pertaining to the Arizona Grain Research and Promotion Council.

2. Use this form to report tonnage of barley and class of wheat (durum, common or heirloom) acquired from each producer during 
the report period for use as food, feed, seed or any industrial or commercial purpose. Remitters may submit required information 
on a computer printout, using this form as a cover. Producer’s current mailing address must be reported in all instances.

3. The first purchaser shall withhold fees from proceeds of commercial grain purchases. The check-off rate is $.02 per cwt. ($.40 per 
ton) for barley and wheat produced in Arizona for use as food, feed, seed or any industrial or commercial use.

4. Send this report and appropriate remittance by the 10th of the month following the report month to: 

ARIZONA GRAIN RESEARCH AND PROMOTION COUNCIL 
c/o ARIZONA DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 

1688 W. ADAMS, PHOENIX, AZ  85007. 

Write or call the Council at the ADA office, ljames@azda.gov, (602) 542-3262, with questions or to request additional forms. 

First Purchaser Name  County  State 

Mailing Address Phone 

Report Date  Month(s) Covered By This Report Contact Person 

Total No. Tons This Report x Assessment ($0.40 Per Ton)=$ Total Remitted 

Producer’s 
Name 

Producer’s Mailing Address 
Harvest 

Year 

Barley or  
Class of Wheat 

(durum, common or heirloom)

Tons x$0.40/Ton 

Totals 

First Purchaser’s Authorized Signature X 

For AGRPC Office Use 

Reviewed and Posted to AGRPC by 
Distribution: Please send original with remittance 

and retain a copy for your records. 

mailto:ljames@azda.gov


 

   

 
 
 
 

Excerpts from Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 3, Article 9 
ARIZONA GRAIN RESEARCH AND PROMOTION COUNCIL 

 
The current check-off rate is $.020 per cwt. ($0.40 per ton) for barley and wheat produced in Arizona for use as food, feed, 
seed or any industrial or commercial use. 

 

3-581. Definitions 
 2. "First buyer" (purchaser) means a person, partnership, corporation or cooperative that purchases 
grain from a producer in the first instance or a public or private lienholder, secured party or pledgee, or 
assignee of the lienholder, …. who gains title to the grain from the grower as a result of exercising any legal 
rights …. regardless of when the lien, security interest or pledge was created. First buyer also includes a public 
or private person who acquires a lien or security interest or receives a pledge after the grain is harvested. 

3. "Grain" means the seed of barley and wheat of all classes produced for use as food, feed, seed or 
any industrial or commercial use. 

5. "Producer" means a person, partnership, corporation or cooperative in this state that produces and 
sells grain in commercial channels. In the case of a partnership, each partner who regularly receives a portion 
of the gross receipts directly from the buyer is considered a producer. 
 
3-584. Power and duties of the council 
 A. The council shall: 
 5. Establish fees to be assessed within the limits prescribed in § 3-587. 
 C. The council may: 
 4. Investigate and prosecute in the name of this state any action or suit to enforce the collection or 
ensure payment of the fees authorized and to sue and be sued in the name of the council. 
 
3-587. Budget and fees; report 
 C. The first purchaser shall collect and remit the fees to the council pursuant to the forms, procedures 
and periodic reports or returns as the council prescribes. The first purchaser shall remit the fees to the council 
on or before the tenth day of the month following collection of the fee or as prescribed by the council. 
 
3-591. Failure to make report 
 If a person subject to the fee required by this article fails to make a report and remittance as required, 
the council shall determine the amount of the fee according to its best information and judgment, which amount 
so fixed is prima facie correct. The person failing to make the report shall pay the fee within ten days after 
notice of the amount of the fee so fixed and computed by the council, together with a penalty of five per cent of 
the amount of the fee. The person may dispute the fee as fixed by the council and request a hearing to 
determine the amount of the fee and penalty to be imposed. No payment may be made until the council enters 
its order determining the amount of payment, but the person shall pay the fee and any penalties assessed 
within ten days of notice of the decision. 
 

3-592. Refund of fees 
 A producer may by the use of forms provided by the council and on presentation of such proof as the 
council may require, have the fee refunded. A request for refund must be received in the office of the council 
within sixty days following the payment of the fee. The council shall make refunds within thirty days of the 
request for refund if the fee sought to be refunded has been received……. 
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