What is a Public Weighmaster?
A "public weighmaster" is a licensed person who is in the business of weighing:
Any object or item for the public generally for hire or for internal use and issuing for that weighing a weight certificate intended to be accepted as an accurate weight upon which a purchase or sale is to be based or on which a service fee is to be charged; or
For hire motor vehicles, trailers or semi-trailers and issuing weight certificates intended to be accepted as an accurate weight for the purpose of determining the amount of any tax, fee or other assessment on the vehicles.
How do I become a Public Weighmaster?
Submit an application for a public weighmaster or deputy weighmaster license to the division on a form prescribed and furnished by the division and shall be accompanied by the license fee prescribed in ARS § 3-3452
Take the Public Weighmaster Test. All applicants are required to take the Public Weighmaster Test. Tests are conducted after an appointment is made, and can be taken at the Department of Agriculture, Weights & Measures Services Division. To schedule a test, contact the Licensing Department at (602) 542-3578. The Department will contact applicants by mail with the test scores. View and print the Public Weighmaster Application.
Pay the Public Weighmaster fee - $48.00.
Obtain a stamp or seal.
How do I become a Deputy Public Weighmaster?
A Deputy Public Weighmaster reports to a Public Weighmaster and performs similar duties. Deputy public weighmasters no longer require passage of a test to become licensed. Instead: Public weighmaster will self-certify deputy public weighmasters (instead of testing). No fee is required. View and print the Deputy Public Weighmaster Application.
How do I become a Limited Weighmaster?
Limited Weighmasters are public safety officials who perform enforcement activities on large scales. Though Limited Weighmasters must submit an application, no test or fee is required.
View and print the Limited Weighmaster Application.
What do I need to know to pass the test?
The test is based on Arizona Revised Statutes, Administrative Rules and Handbook 44 requirements. To view a pertinent State statute or administrative rule, visit the Legal Center.
Also, refer to:
Important Testing Information
PLEASE NOTE: Due to Covid-19, the number of people taking tests at the same time is limited. To decrease wait times, we strongly encourage you to make an appointment by calling 602-542-3578 or emailing licensin[email protected].
We are now located within the AZ Department of Agriculture, 1688 W Adams Street, Phoenix AZ 85007. Parking is south of the building in Wesley Bolin Plaza or any other lots that do not require a permit/window sticker. Do not park behind (North of) the Agriculture building or you will likely get a parking ticket.
Testing is conducted Mon – Friday from 8:00 AM to 11:00 AM and 1:30 PM to 3:30 PM except state holidays. Please be advised – applicants may not take the same exam more than once in a seven (7) day period. Pursuant to Arizona Administrative Code R3-7-501 (B). “… A person may not take the examination more than two (2) times in six (6) months. So you want to make sure you have prepared for the exam before coming in to take the exam. If you have to drive a long distance and do not pass, you will not be allowed to take the exam again for 7 days. In addition our tester seating space is limited. If you have more than 4 people coming in at one time, some of them will have to wait for an open seat. If you have over 8 people needing to test, please contact licensing in advance to see if we can make accommodations.
Links to available study materials for the exams can be found elsewhere on this page.
Prospective testers should complete the Test Taker Contact Form and bring it to the testing site.
If you have any additional questions or concern with regard to testing, feel free to contact the Licensing Staff via email at [email protected] (link sends e-mail) or via telephone at 602-542-3578.
Electronic signatures and seals are now allowed:
The name and image of the seal of the public weighmaster and deputy public weighmaster may be imprinted electronically on the weighmaster certificate in lieu of a handwritten signature and pressed seal.
A public weighmaster may replicate the state-assigned seal in an electronic format for use as provided under subsection R3-7-505(D). A template is provided at https://agriculture.az.gov/file/1547 with an example https://agriculture.az.gov/file/1546
The public weighmaster or deputy public weighmaster shall have an individual login associated with the electronic signature and seal or other security measures in place to prevent non-licensed persons from use.