Food Safety Modernization Act

About the Food Safety Modernization Act (FSMA)

FSMA is the most sweeping reform of food safety laws in over 70 years. Signed January 4, 2011, by President Obama, FSMA aims to create an integrated food safety system and improve the quality of food products to the public by reducing foodborne illness.

Regulation Resources: FSMA Overview

The seven major FSMA regulations include:

  1. Produce Safety Rule - Standards for the Growing, Harvesting, Packing, & Holding of Produce for Human Consumption
  2. Preventive Controls for Human Foods
  3. Preventive Controls for Animals
  4. Foreign Supplier Verification Programs
  5. Third Party Accreditation
  6. Mitigation of Intentional Adulteration
  7. Sanitary Transportation



For more information about FSMA Training, please see FDA's Strategy for FSMA Training.

To contact FDA with FSMA questions or technical assistance, please submit to the Technical Assistance Network.

Get Email Updates With The Latest News